what is vegan

Is sorbitolo vegan?

Sorbitolo is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbitolo?

Sorbitol, also known as glucitol, is a sugar alcohol commonly used as a sweetener in food products. It is a white, odorless, and crystalline powder with a sweet taste that is approximately 60% as sweet as sugar. Sorbitol is naturally found in some fruits and vegetables, but it is mostly produced by hydrogenation of glucose. It has a lower calorie content than sugar and is often used in sugar-free or reduced-calorie foods. Sorbitol is also used as a humectant, which means it helps to retain moisture in foods and prevent them from drying out. However, consumption of large amounts of sorbitol can cause digestive issues such as bloating, diarrhea, and abdominal pain.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbitolo?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy