what is vegan

Is traditional mayonnaise vegan?

Traditional mayonnaise is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is traditional mayonnaise?

Traditional mayonnaise is a creamy, thick condiment made from a blend of oil, egg yolks, vinegar, and mustard. With its velvety texture and tangy flavor, it's a beloved staple in many cuisines worldwide. This versatile ingredient can be used to add richness to sandwiches, burgers, and salads, and as a base for dressings and sauces. While there are many variations of mayonnaise, traditional mayo is often distinguished by its simple yet timeless recipe, which has remained virtually unchanged for centuries. It's a go-to ingredient for anyone who wants to add a touch of classic flavor to their dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like traditional mayonnaise?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy