what is vegan

Is xanthane vegan?

Xanthan gum is a common food additive used as a thickener and stabilizer. It is created by fermenting sugar with a type of bacteria called Xanthomonas campestris. The resulting compound is a white powder that can be easily dissolved in both hot and cold liquids. Xanthan gum is often used in gluten-free baking to help mimic the texture of gluten, and it can also be found in a variety of other products such as salad dressings, sauces, and ice cream. Because it is a soluble fiber, xanthan gum may have some health benefits, such as improving digestive health and regulating blood sugar levels.

Xanthane is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like xanthane?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy