what is vegan

Are amidons transformés vegan?

Amidons transformés is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is amidons transformés?

Amidons transformés, or "modified starches," are food ingredients derived from starches such as corn, wheat, or potato. Through a process of physical, enzymatic, or chemical modifications, these starches are altered to enhance their functional properties in various food applications. Modified starches can act as thickeners, stabilizers, emulsifiers, and gelling agents, improving texture, viscosity, and shelf life of food products. They are commonly used in processed foods such as soups, sauces, dressings, and baked goods. Amidons transformés can be labeled as "modified corn starch," "modified wheat starch," or "modified potato starch" on food labels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like amidons transformés?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy