what is vegan

Are fermèntos lácticos vegan?

Fermèntos lácticos is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fermèntos lácticos?

Fermèntos lácticos, also known as lactic acid bacteria, are essential ingredients in the production of a wide range of fermented dairy products such as yogurt, kefir, and cheese. These beneficial bacteria convert lactose, the natural sugar found in milk, into lactic acid, which helps to acidify the product, giving it a tangy and slightly sour flavor. Additionally, fermentos lácticos can contribute to the development of complex flavors and textures, as well as offer potential health benefits such as improved digestion and immune system function. These versatile microorganisms are a cornerstone of traditional food preservation techniques and have been used for centuries in various cultures around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fermèntos lácticos?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy