what is vegan

Are milk of mammals vegan?

Milk of mammals is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is milk of mammals?

Milk of mammals refers to the lacteal secretion produced by female mammals to feed their young. It is a nutrient-rich liquid that is highly valued for its flavor and versatility in cooking and baking. Depending on the source, mammal milk can vary in fat content, sweetness, and overall flavor profile. Cow's milk is the most commonly consumed type of mammal milk, but goat, sheep, and buffalo milk are also popular alternatives. In addition to being a rich source of protein, vitamins, and minerals, mammal milk can be processed into various dairy products, such as cheese, yogurt, and butter, making it a staple ingredient in many cuisines around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like milk of mammals?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy