what is vegan

Are poivres vegan?

Poivres is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is poivres?

Poivres is a French term that translates to "peppers" in English. However, unlike the bell peppers commonly found in grocery stores, poivres refer to a variety of peppercorns with unique flavors and aromas. These include black, white, green, and pink peppercorns, which all come from different plants and undergo distinct processing methods. Black peppercorns are the most common and have a sharp, spicy flavor, while white peppercorns have a milder taste and pink peppercorns are fruity and floral. Green peppercorns are harvested before they fully ripen and have a fresh, herbaceous taste. Together, poivres add depth and complexity to dishes and are an essential ingredient in French cuisine.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like poivres?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy