what is vegan

Is a dextrose vegan?

Dextrose is a simple sugar that is derived from cornstarch or other natural sources. It is a common ingredient in many processed foods, including baked goods, energy bars, and sports drinks. Dextrose is a highly soluble and easily digestible form of glucose that is often used as a sweetener, as well as a source of energy for the body. Due to its rapid absorption and quick conversion to energy, dextrose is often used by athletes and bodybuilders to enhance performance and improve recovery time. Additionally, dextrose is also used in medical settings to treat low blood sugar levels, dehydration, and other conditions.

A dextrose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like a dextrose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy