what is vegan

Is acetic oxide vegan?

Acetic oxide is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acetic oxide?

I'm sorry, but "acetic oxide" is not a food ingredient that exists. However, there is a chemical compound called "acetic anhydride" that is sometimes used as a food additive. Acetic anhydride is a clear, colorless liquid that has a pungent vinegar-like odor. It is commonly used as an acetylating agent in the food industry, which means it helps to modify or add certain chemical groups to other compounds. This can be useful in food preservation, flavoring, and coloring. Despite its uses in the food industry, acetic anhydride is a hazardous chemical and should only be used by trained professionals in controlled settings. It can cause skin and eye irritation, respiratory problems, and can be harmful if ingested. As such, it is heavily regulated and should be handled with extreme care.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acetic oxide?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy