what is vegan

Is acide láctique vegan?

Acide láctique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acide láctique?

Acide lactique, also known as lactic acid, is a naturally occurring organic acid that is commonly used in the food industry as a souring agent and preservative. It is produced by the fermentation of sugars found in milk, fruits, and vegetables. Acide lactique has a tangy, slightly sour taste and is often used to enhance the flavor and texture of various foods, such as cheese, yogurt, salad dressings, and pickled vegetables. It is also used as a natural preservative in meat, poultry, and seafood products. Aside from its culinary uses, acide lactique is also used in the cosmetic industry as a skin-conditioning agent and in the production of biodegradable plastics.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acide láctique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy