what is vegan

Is betanin vegan?

Betanin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is betanin?

Betanin is a natural red-violet pigment found in certain plants, especially in beets. It belongs to the group of betalains, which are water-soluble antioxidants with a wide range of health benefits. Betanin is widely used in the food industry as a natural food colorant, particularly in dairy products, confectionery, and processed meats. Besides its aesthetic function, betanin has been found to have potent anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer, and anti-oxidant properties. It also helps to regulate blood pressure, improve digestion, and boost the immune system. Overall, betanin is a versatile and beneficial ingredient that has gained popularity for its natural color and health benefits.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like betanin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy