what is vegan

Is carbonato de potasio vegan?

Carbonato de potasio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonato de potasio?

Carbonato de potasio, also known as potassium carbonate, is a white, odorless, and water-soluble chemical compound. It has various industrial applications, including the manufacturing of glass, soaps, and fertilizers. As a food ingredient, it is used as a pH regulator, emulsifier, and leavening agent in baked goods. Carbonato de potasio is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and is commonly used in the food industry to improve the texture, appearance, and shelf-life of products. It is also a source of potassium, an essential nutrient for the human body.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonato de potasio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy