what is vegan

Is cetylpalmitate vegan?

Cetylpalmitate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cetylpalmitate?

Cetylpalmitate is a versatile food ingredient that is commonly used as an emollient, thickening agent, and emulsifier in various food and cosmetic formulations. This waxy substance is derived from the esterification of cetyl alcohol and palmitic acid, and is often used as a replacement for animal-derived fats in vegan and vegetarian products. Cetylpalmitate has a high melting point, which makes it ideal for stabilizing and thickening products at high temperatures. In food applications, it is commonly used in baked goods, confectionery, and processed meats to improve texture and mouthfeel.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cetylpalmitate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy