what is vegan

Is chymosin vegan?

Chymosin is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is chymosin?

Chymosin is a protease enzyme naturally found in the stomachs of young ruminants, such as cows and sheep. It plays a crucial role in the digestion of milk by breaking down the milk protein casein into smaller, more digestible peptides. Chymosin is commonly used in the production of cheese as a coagulant, helping to separate the curds from the whey. It is also used in the production of other dairy products, such as yogurt and buttermilk. Chymosin is highly effective at coagulating milk and has a unique ability to produce a smooth, firm curd, making it an essential ingredient in the cheese-making process.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like chymosin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy