what is vegan

Is oleicacid vegan?

Oleicacid is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is oleicacid?

Oleic acid is a monounsaturated omega-9 fatty acid that is commonly found in animal and vegetable fats. It is a colorless, odorless, and viscous liquid that has a high melting point and is commonly used as a cooking oil due to its high smoke point. Oleic acid is known to have several health benefits, including reducing the risk of heart disease and improving insulin sensitivity. It also plays a role in maintaining healthy skin, aiding in the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins, and promoting brain health. Oleic acid can be found in foods such as olive oil, avocado oil, nuts, and seeds.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like oleicacid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy