what is vegan

Is cuajo microbiano vegan?

Cuajo microbiano is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cuajo microbiano?

Cuajo microbiano, also known as microbial rennet, is a vegetarian-friendly coagulant commonly used in the cheese-making process. It is produced by fermentation of microorganisms such as fungi or bacteria, which contain enzymes that help solidify milk into curd. Unlike animal-based rennet, cuajo microbiano is cruelty-free and doesn't have any taste or odor, ensuring that it won't affect the final product's flavor. This ingredient has gained popularity in recent years as more people opt for plant-based diets and sustainable food choices. Its versatility and ease of use make it an excellent alternative to traditional rennet, with a similar texture and consistency.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cuajo microbiano?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy