what is vegan

Is de benzoato de sodio vegan?

De benzoato de sodio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is de benzoato de sodio?

Sodium benzoate is a white, odorless, crystalline powder that is commonly used as a food preservative due to its ability to prevent the growth of bacteria, yeast, and fungi. It is produced by combining benzoic acid with sodium hydroxide, resulting in a salt-like compound that is highly soluble in water. Sodium benzoate is commonly found in carbonated beverages, fruit juices, and condiments, as well as in some medicines and personal care products. While generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies, some studies have suggested that high levels of sodium benzoate consumption may have adverse health effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like de benzoato de sodio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy