what is vegan

Is diphosphates and sodium carbonate vegan?

Diphosphates and sodium carbonate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is diphosphates and sodium carbonate?

Diphosphates and sodium carbonate are food additives that are commonly used as leavening agents in baked goods. Diphosphates, also known as pyrophosphates, are a type of salt that react with sodium carbonate (also known as baking soda) to produce carbon dioxide gas. This gas creates tiny pockets in the dough or batter, causing it to rise and become light and fluffy. These ingredients are often found in cake mixes, self-raising flour, and other baked goods that require a leavening agent. While they are generally considered safe for consumption, some individuals may have allergic reactions or sensitivities to these additives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like diphosphates and sodium carbonate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy