what is vegan

Is e900 vegan?

E900 is a food additive known as Dimethylpolysiloxane, a silicone-based compound that is commonly used in the food industry as an anti-foaming agent. It is often found in fast food chains and is used to prevent oil from splattering during frying. E900 is an odorless and tasteless substance that is considered safe for human consumption, as it does not react with other food components or the human body. While it is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the FDA, some studies have shown that high doses of E900 may lead to adverse effects, such as reproductive and developmental issues.

E900 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e900?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy