what is vegan

Is extracto levadura vegan?

Extracto levadura is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extracto levadura?

Extracto de levadura, also known as yeast extract, is a highly concentrated paste derived from autolyzed yeast cells. It is a common ingredient in savory dishes and is used to enhance the umami flavor profile. Extracto de levadura is often used as a vegetarian and vegan alternative to meat-based bouillon or stock. It has a slightly nutty and savory flavor and is rich in glutamic acid, which is responsible for the umami taste. Extracto de levadura can be used as a seasoning or flavoring agent in soups, stews, sauces, and dressings, among other dishes. It is also a source of vitamins, minerals, and amino acids, making it a valuable addition to any diet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extracto levadura?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy