what is vegan

Is fromage parmigiano-reggiano vegan?

Fromage parmigiano-reggiano is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fromage parmigiano-reggiano?

Fromage Parmigiano-Reggiano, also known as Parmesan cheese, is a hard, granular cheese that originated in Italy. Made from unpasteurized cow's milk, it has a rich, nutty flavor and a crumbly texture that makes it perfect for grating over pasta dishes or salads. The cheese is aged for a minimum of 12 months, which gives it its distinctive flavor and texture. As a versatile ingredient, it can be used to add depth and complexity to a wide range of recipes, from classic Italian dishes like risotto and lasagna to more modern creations like grilled vegetables and gourmet sandwiches.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fromage parmigiano-reggiano?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy