what is vegan

Is glucono delta lactona vegan?

Glucono delta lactona is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glucono delta lactona?

Glucono delta lactona (GDL) is a natural food acidulant commonly used in the food industry as a pH regulator, flavor enhancer, and leavening agent. It is produced by the oxidation of glucose, a simple sugar that is commonly found in plants. GDL is a white crystalline powder with a slightly sweet taste and a mild odor. It is soluble in water and has a pH value of around 3.5. Due to its ability to slowly release acid, GDL is particularly useful in baked goods, dairy products, and meat products. It is also used in tofu production to give the soybean curd a firmer texture. Additionally, GDL is often used in organic and natural food products as a safer alternative to traditional chemical acidulants.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glucono delta lactona?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy