what is vegan

Is gomme d'acacia vegan?

Gomme d'acacia is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gomme d'acacia?

Gomme d'acacia, also known as acacia gum or gum arabic, is a natural plant-based ingredient widely used in the food industry as a stabilizer, thickener, and emulsifier. It is obtained from the sap of the acacia tree, which grows in regions of Africa, India, and the Middle East. Gomme d'acacia is a soluble fiber that can improve the texture and mouthfeel of food products while also enhancing their shelf life. It is commonly used in confectionery, beverages, dairy products, and bakery goods, and it is valued for its clean label status and low allergenic potential. Gomme d'acacia is also used in traditional medicine and has potential health benefits, such as reducing inflammation and improving gut health.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gomme d'acacia?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy