what is vegan

Is gommes arabique vegan?

Gommes arabique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gommes arabique?

Gommes arabique, also known as Arabic gum, is a natural ingredient derived from the sap of the Acacia tree. It is a type of plant exudate that is commonly used as a stabilizer, thickener, and emulsifier in the food industry. With its unique properties, gommes arabique is able to bind ingredients together, prevent crystallization, and increase viscosity without altering the taste or aroma of the food. It is also used in the production of chewing gum, confectionery, and other food products. Gommes arabique is a versatile and natural ingredient that is safe for consumption and can enhance the texture and appearance of a wide range of foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gommes arabique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy