what is vegan

Is holunderbeeren vegan?

Holunderbeeren is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is holunderbeeren?

Holunderbeeren, also known as elderberries, are small, dark purple berries that grow on the elder tree, a plant native to Europe, North Africa, and Asia. These berries have a rich and complex flavor, with a tart and slightly sweet taste that's reminiscent of blackcurrants and blueberries. They are often used in traditional European cuisine, particularly in jams, jellies, and syrups, as well as in beverages like elderberry wine and cordial. Holunderbeeren are also highly valued for their health benefits, as they are a rich source of antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals, and are believed to have immune-boosting and anti-inflammatory properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like holunderbeeren?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy