what is vegan

Is hydrolyzed wheat protein vegan?

Hydrolyzed wheat protein is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrolyzed wheat protein?

Hydrolyzed wheat protein is a food ingredient derived from wheat that has been broken down into smaller proteins through a process called hydrolysis. This process involves the use of enzymes or acid to break down the protein molecules, resulting in a more easily digestible form. Hydrolyzed wheat protein is often used as a food additive due to its ability to enhance flavor, improve texture, and increase nutritional value. It is commonly found in processed foods such as soups, sauces, and snack foods, as well as in some cosmetic and personal care products due to its moisturizing and hair strengthening properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrolyzed wheat protein?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy