what is vegan

Is iron caseinate vegan?

Iron caseinate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ๐Ÿ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

โ€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ๐Ÿ˜"

โ€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

โ€” Dรณra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is iron caseinate?

Iron caseinate is a food ingredient made by combining iron with casein, a protein found in milk. This combination results in a powder that is easily soluble in water and has a neutral taste. Iron caseinate is often used as a source of iron in food products such as breakfast cereals, energy bars, and protein shakes. It is an excellent source of bioavailable iron, which is important for healthy blood and immune function. Iron caseinate is also commonly used in the food industry as a stabilizer, thickener, and emulsifier. Its versatility and nutritional benefits make it a popular choice in many food formulations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like iron caseinate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ๐Ÿ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy