what is vegan

Is keluak vegan?

Keluak is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is keluak?

Keluak, also known as the Indonesian black nut or kepayang, is a rare and exotic ingredient commonly used in Southeast Asian cuisine, particularly in Indonesian and Malaysian dishes. This nut comes from the kepayang tree and has a hard, woody shell that contains a black, oily seed. The seed's flavor is earthy and nutty with a hint of bitterness, making it a prized ingredient in traditional stews, curries, and soups. Keluak is also believed to have medicinal properties, and its oil is used in some traditional remedies. However, due to its toxicity, keluak must be properly prepared before consumption.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like keluak?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy