what is vegan

Is salak vegan?

Salak, also known as snake fruit, is a tropical fruit native to Indonesia that boasts a unique taste and appearance. Its brown, scaly skin resembles that of a snake, hence its nickname. The fruit's crisp, white flesh is sweet and slightly acidic, with a texture reminiscent of a crisp apple. Rich in vitamin C and fiber, salak is also believed to have medicinal properties, including the ability to lower blood pressure and aid digestion. Its versatile nature makes it a popular ingredient in salads, desserts, and beverages, providing a distinct flavor and crunchy texture.

Salak is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like salak?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy