what is vegan

Is lactylate de sodium vegan?

Lactylate de sodium is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lactylate de sodium?

Sodium lactylate is a versatile food ingredient used to enhance the texture, flavor, and shelf life of various baked goods and processed foods. It is derived from the natural fermentation of lactic acid and has a mild, tangy flavor. As a dough conditioner, it improves the elasticity and crumb structure of bread, while also enhancing its freshness and softness. Sodium lactylate is also an effective emulsifier, helping to stabilize oil and water-based mixtures and prevent them from separating. It is commonly found in commercial bread, cake mixes, and processed meats, as well as vegan and gluten-free products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lactylate de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy