what is vegan

Is lactylates de sodium vegan?

Lactylates de sodium is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lactylates de sodium?

Sodium lactylates are versatile food additives commonly used as emulsifiers, dough strengtheners, and shelf-life extenders. They are made by combining lactic acid with sodium hydroxide and then esterifying the resulting compound with an alcohol. The resulting sodium lactylates are highly effective at improving the texture and consistency of baked goods, as well as preventing spoilage by inhibiting the growth of mold and bacteria. Additionally, they are considered safe for consumption by the FDA and are widely used in the food industry. Sodium lactylates are a must-have ingredient for any baker or food manufacturer looking to create high-quality products that last longer on the shelf.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lactylates de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy