what is vegan

Is locust beans gum vegan?

Locust beans gum is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is locust beans gum?

Locust beans gum, also known as carob gum, is a natural food ingredient derived from the seeds of the carob tree. The gum is extracted by grinding the seeds into a fine powder, which is then treated with water to separate the gum from the other components. This plant-based thickener is commonly used in food production as a stabilizer, emulsifier, and thickening agent. It is particularly useful in dairy products, sauces, and baked goods. Locust beans gum is a great alternative to synthetic thickeners and stabilizers, as it is natural, non-toxic, and non-allergenic. Its unique chemical properties give it the ability to increase viscosity, improve texture, and prolong shelf life.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like locust beans gum?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy