what is vegan

Is maltodestrine vegan?

Maltodestrine is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodestrine?

Maltodextrin is a versatile food ingredient commonly used as a thickener, filler, or sweetener in a wide range of processed foods and beverages. It is a white, powdery substance that is derived from corn, rice, potato starch, or wheat. Maltodextrin is made by breaking down the starch molecules into smaller pieces, resulting in a carbohydrate that is easily digestible and quickly absorbed by the body. Due to its neutral flavor and ability to dissolve easily, maltodextrin is a popular ingredient in energy drinks, sports supplements, and meal replacement products. However, it should be consumed in moderation as it is high in calories and can lead to a spike in blood sugar levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodestrine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy