what is vegan

Is natrijum askorbat vegan?

Natrijum askorbat is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is natrijum askorbat?

Natrijum askorbat is a chemical compound that is commonly used as a food additive to help preserve the freshness and color of various food products. It is a salt of ascorbic acid, also known as Vitamin C, and is typically produced by reacting ascorbic acid with sodium bicarbonate. Natrijum askorbat is a white or slightly yellow crystalline powder with a slightly bitter taste. It is highly soluble in water and can be easily added to a variety of foods, including cured meats, canned fruits and vegetables, and fruit juices. In addition to its use as a food additive, natrijum askorbat is also commonly used in the production of dietary supplements and pharmaceuticals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like natrijum askorbat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy