what is vegan

Is nişasta vegan?

Nişasta is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is nişasta?

Nişasta is a common food ingredient that originates from starch extracted from a variety of plants, including corn, wheat, potatoes, and rice. It's a fine white powder that is often used as a thickener or binding agent in recipes for sauces, gravies, and baked goods. Nişasta is also used in the production of noodles, pasta, and some processed foods to improve their texture and stability. Because it is a pure form of carbohydrate, nişasta is also used as a source of energy in some food and beverage products. Despite its widespread use in the food industry, nişasta is a simple and natural ingredient that is often gluten-free and suitable for those with food sensitivities.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like nişasta?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy