what is vegan

Is növényi zsír vegan?

Növényi zsír is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is növényi zsír?

Növényi zsír, also known as vegetable fat, is a type of fat that is derived from plant sources such as soybeans, palm, sunflower, or rapeseed. It is often used in food processing as a substitute for animal-based fats, and can be found in a variety of products such as margarine, baked goods, and snacks. Növényi zsír is considered a healthier alternative to animal fats due to its lower saturated fat content. It is also a popular ingredient for vegans and vegetarians as it is entirely plant-based. Despite its benefits, some studies suggest that the extensive use of növényi zsír may lead to negative health effects, so it's recommended to consume it in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like növényi zsír?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy