what is vegan

Is oxidised starch vegan?

Oxidised starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is oxidised starch?

Oxidised starch is a popular food ingredient that has been chemically modified to improve its functional properties. This process involves treating starch with an oxidizing agent, which alters the structure of the starch molecules and enhances their ability to bind water and form gels. As a result, oxidized starch is commonly used in a wide range of food products as a thickening, stabilizing, or binding agent, including baked goods, sauces, dressings, and soups. It is also known for its ability to provide a smoother texture and increased shelf-life to food products. Oxidised starch is a versatile ingredient that enhances the overall quality of numerous foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like oxidised starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy