what is vegan

Is port wine vegan?

Port wine is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is port wine?

Port wine is a rich, fortified wine with a distinctive sweet taste and complex flavor profile. This fortified wine is made from grapes grown in Portugal's Douro Valley and is typically aged in wooden barrels. Port wine's deep ruby hue and lush texture come from the addition of brandy during fermentation, which halts the yeast's activity and preserves the wine's sweetness. The resulting flavor is often described as a combination of fruity notes with hints of nuts, chocolate, and spices. Port wine is a versatile ingredient that can add depth and complexity to many dishes, from savory stews to sweet desserts.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like port wine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy