what is vegan

Is schweinegelatine vegan?

Schweinegelatine is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is schweinegelatine?

Schweinegelatine, also known as pork gelatin, is a widely used food ingredient that is derived from the collagen found in the skin, bones, and connective tissue of pigs. It is a clear, odorless, and tasteless substance that is commonly used as a gelling agent in a variety of food products, including desserts, gummy candies, and marshmallows. Schweinegelatine is valued for its ability to create a smooth and creamy texture in food products, as well as its ability to enhance the shelf life of these products. Despite its widespread use, some individuals may choose to avoid schweinegelatine due to dietary or cultural reasons.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like schweinegelatine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy