what is vegan

Is tuorehiiva vegan?

Tuorehiiva is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ­čĹç

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

ÔÇö Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ­čśü"

ÔÇö Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

ÔÇö D├│ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tuorehiiva?

Tuorehiiva, also known as fresh yeast, is a natural and versatile food ingredient commonly used in baking. It is made up of live yeast cells that provide excellent leavening power to bread, pastries, and other baked goods. Unlike dry yeast, tuorehiiva must be kept refrigerated and has a limited shelf life, but it can offer a more complex and nuanced flavor profile to baked goods. This ingredient is especially popular in Scandinavian and Finnish baking traditions, where it is often used to make sweet buns and other traditional pastries. Its unique properties make it a favorite among bakers who appreciate its ability to enhance the taste, texture, and aroma of baked goods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tuorehiiva?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ­čÖî
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy