what is vegan

Is xantham gum vegan?

Xantham gum is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is xantham gum?

Xanthan gum is a versatile food ingredient that serves as an excellent stabilizer, thickener, and emulsifier. It is a polysaccharide made through the fermentation of simple sugars using the Xanthomonas campestris bacterium. With its unique binding properties, xanthan gum is widely used in food products such as sauces, dressings, baked goods, and ice cream to enhance texture, improve shelf life, and prevent ingredient separation. It is also popular in gluten-free baking as it mimics the properties of gluten, creating a similar texture in baked goods. Despite its synthetic-sounding name, xanthan gum is natural and safe for consumption, making it a popular choice for both industrial and home cooks alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like xantham gum?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy