what is vegan

Is ammonium hydrogen carbonate vegan?

Ammonium hydrogen carbonate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ammonium hydrogen carbonate?

Ammonium hydrogen carbonate, also known as baking ammonia or hartshorn, is a white crystalline powder with a pungent ammonia odor. It is a leavening agent commonly used in traditional European and Scandinavian baked goods such as cookies, crackers, and biscuits. When heated, it releases carbon dioxide gas which causes the dough to rise and creates a light, crisp texture. Despite its name, ammonium hydrogen carbonate does not contain any harmful chemicals like ammonia found in cleaning products, and it is safe for consumption in small amounts. It can be found in specialty baking stores or online.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ammonium hydrogen carbonate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy