what is vegan

Is cire carnauba vegan?

Cire carnauba is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cire carnauba?

Carnauba wax, also known as cire carnauba, is a vegetable wax derived from the leaves of the Brazilian palm tree Copernicia prunifera. It is a hard, yellowish-brown wax that is often used as a food additive to give products a glossy finish or as a coating for candies, chocolates, and other sweets. Carnauba wax is also commonly used in cosmetics and personal care products, such as lipstick, mascara, and hair styling products, due to its emollient and water-resistant properties. It is considered safe for consumption and is commonly used in vegan and vegetarian food products as an alternative to beeswax.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cire carnauba?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy