what is vegan

Are glycérol et sorbitols vegan?

Glycérol et sorbitols is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glycérol et sorbitols?

Glycérol et sorbitols are two common food additives that are widely used as sweeteners, thickeners, and humectants. Glycérol, also known as glycerin, is a colorless, odorless, and viscous liquid that has a sweet taste. Sorbitols, on the other hand, are sugar alcohols that are derived from glucose. They have a sweet taste and are often used as a sugar substitute in sugar-free products. Both glycérol and sorbitols are commonly used in the production of baked goods, candies, and chewing gum, as well as in pharmaceuticals and personal care products. As food ingredients, they help improve texture, shelf life, and mouthfeel, while also reducing the calorie content of foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glycérol et sorbitols?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy