what is vegan

Is ethanol vegan?

Ethanol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ethanol?

Ethanol, also known as ethyl alcohol, is a clear and colorless liquid with a distinctively pungent odor. It is a type of alcohol that is produced through the fermentation of sugars and starches, such as corn, wheat, or barley. Ethanol is commonly used as a solvent, fuel, and disinfectant, but it also has a wide range of applications in the food industry. It is frequently used as a flavor enhancer and preservative in many food products, including baked goods, candy, and gelatin desserts. Ethanol is also a key ingredient in alcoholic beverages, such as beer, wine, and spirits. Its unique properties make it an indispensable ingredient in many aspects of modern life.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ethanol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy