what is vegan

Is d'amande amère vegan?

D'amande amère is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is d'amande amère?

D'amande amère is a distinctive ingredient that adds depth and complexity to any recipe. Also known as bitter almond, it is a type of almond that has a slightly bitter taste and a subtle aroma. Its intense flavor makes it a popular choice in baking, particularly in traditional European desserts such as marzipan and amaretti cookies. D'amande amère contains amygdalin, a compound that breaks down into cyanide when ingested in large quantities. Therefore, it is important to use this ingredient sparingly and with caution.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like d'amande amère?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy